fbpx

The Value of Chi Force Live classes

• The Value of Chi Force Live classes

Posted by Robert on May 25, 2023 at 12:25 pm

Hello, I’ve been a Chi Force member (student) since October 2022, now seven months. I have been studying tai chi seriously for about eight years with different teachers, both in live classes, and since the Covid pandemic, in online classes on Zoom. Being an inveterate bookworm, I’ve also read a lot of books on tai chi and qi gong. I feel I may have some experience and knowledge to offer an observation to others on what may help a new tai chi student. One book I’ve read that is helpful is by a long time tai chi teacher, Michael Gilman (who teaches Yang style tai chi), 108 Insights into Tai Chi Chuan: A String of Pearls (YMAA Publication Center 1998). One of Mr. Gilman’s insights, No. 15, is: “Having a good teacher is so very important in learning Tai Chi. Books and videos can help, but offer no feedback. Respect your teacher and observe the rules. If you don’t feel you can do this, find another teacher.” I agree. This insight is so true. I have found that books and videos are helpful, but you need feedback to improve your tai chi. I think the Chi Force system is a good way to learn tai chi. I like the video lessons which help explain and demonstrate the practices, but to really learn the practices, you have to do it, that is, practice the practices, and you need feedback, or corrections. I think many people don’t like to be corrected because someone is telling you that you are doing something wrong, especially in the presence of others like on Zoom. Well, tai chi is not so easy, and chances are when you are starting out in tai chi, you are doing it wrong. One of the “secrets” of tai chi learning is that you need feedback and correction to do it right. For me, the Chi Force Live sessions are an integral part of the Chi Force learning system, and I have enjoyed the interaction with the Chi Force Live teachers, Stephan and Frances, who are not